Who are we ?

The XSYS – Toulouse Institute for Complex Systems Studies, brings together key players of Toulouse and the Occitanie Region with complementary expertises to build transversal methodological approaches in order to work on the inherent complexity of the key societal challenges.

In addition to the global renewal of the scientific approach, the XSYS has defined three primary research topics closely aligned with the local resources and the significance of academic, societal and economic challenges at the regional level :

The Mission
Researchers involved in the XSYS dynamic endeavour to understand and unify the underlying concepts and methodologies of complexity found in physical, biological, societal, cultural, technological or environmental fields. Our research network in Toulouse spans across research units, academic specialties and brings together curious experts dedicated to the development of scientific approaches catalysing innovation and progress. As the scientists involved in the XSYS will reveal the concepts, processes and laws underlying the complex worlds, we will ensure the promotion of this understanding and to accompany their applications in order to promote the emergence of a society and an environement able to adapt to the challenges of today and tomorrow.

Our Fields of action and projects

The XSYS - Toulouse Institute for Complex Systems Studies, supports its members and regional stakeholders by providing them expertises on the understading and implementation of complex systems through a varied offer adapted to the needs of the different targeted audiences.

The XSYS has defined three key fields of action :

Xsys Triptyque
Science & Interdisciplinarity
Science & Non academic partnerships
Science & Society

To know more on the fields of action and projects : click here

Our Vision

"Bring together diversity to serve complexity"

The understanding of complex systems and their applications affect all the actors of the society : development issue for public authorities (collectivities), a preliminary requirement for the optimisation or creation of innovative services and technologies for the econonic stakeholders, a challenge to achieve excellence for the research teams.

The XSYS vision is to become a key ecosystem for complexity science in France by developing innovative interdisciplinary scientific approaches of complex environments and accompany its members and stakeholders in order to understand, analyse, design and act in complex worlds in order to participate in the deploiement of sustainable solutions to the societal, economical, environmental challenges of our societies.

The XSYS is dedicated to :

  • Promoting the development of an integrated interdisciplinary approach by linking and reconciling the traditional scientific disciplines in order to better understand the key complex scientific and societal issues
  • Accompanying the development of concepts, tools and methodologies on complex science by fostering the dialogue and supporting the integration of the diverse expertises of all the actors in order to face the challenges that the complex phenomenon can cause in many areas
  • Building scientific capabilities and sharing and transfering skills and tools with the non academic communities in order to act on complexity challenges in the economic, environmental and societal areas
  • Structuring a knowledge and value chain related to a renewed approach on complexity that involves all the stakeholders in the region and beyond
  • Promoting and highlighting the renewal of the scientific approach on complex systems within the academic, insitutional and economic worlds
  • Contributing to the national and international outreach thanks to the expertise and value created around complexity
 

Our Organisation

The XSYS brings together local « complex systems » experts in all their diversity and harness their competencies to serve scientific research and its region :

Xsys Triptyque
14 Research Units
20 companies & clusters
10 local authorities

Governed by a steering committee of 15 members, that represent the local scientific, institutional and economic communities, the XSYS is supported by a high level international scientific committee at the forefront of reseach on complex systems. The objective is to develop a science strategy to address of scientific research and applications that will help analysing, designing, optimising and acting in complex environments.

The XSYS is a member of the National Complex Systems Network (Réseau National des Systèmes Complexes), the French network coordinating and promoting the initiatives, knowledge and competencies on complex systems.

Click here to discover the Steering Committee

Click here to discover the Scientific Committee

Our Expertise

Our Research teams

The XSYS is an open and inclusive dynamic initiative composed by a heart of 14 Research Units, 3 Engineering Schools, 3 technology plateforms (NeOCampus, ITAV, CBI) that play a leading role at the national or international level. The core of the XSYS gathers more than 200 scientific experts.

The XSYS is supported by an extended circle of partners involving 30 laboratories and scientific structures that represent 300 additional scientists that regularly contribute to the research projects.

The XSYS brings together reknown teams in the fields of :

Xsys Triptyque
Physics & Engineering Sciences

Bio-technology, Chemistry, Computer Science, Mathematics, Mecanics, Nano-technology, Physics, Material Science…

Earth & Life Sciences

Agriculture, Biology, Ecology, Medecine, Health, Earth Sciences, Zoology…

Social Sciences & Humanities

Anthropology, Archeology, Economy, Geography, Histoiry, Litterature, Psychology, Management Sciences, Sociology, Urbanism…

Our Offer

In order to answer to the various challenges and questions on complexity brought up by its different stakeholders, the XSYS develops unique and customised projects and services by calling in in an interdisciplinary manner approach the most relevant quantitative and qualitative and mobilising the adequate tools or building new ones.

Thanks to the diversity of expertises its gathers, the XSYS is able to shade light on complexity in order to provide its stakeholders a better understanding of his environment and ways to leverage its inherent complexity.

Qui sommes-nous ?

L’XSYS – Institut d’Etudes des Systèmes Complexes de Toulouse, regroupe les acteurs de Toulouse et de la région Occitanie de la complexité. L’XSYS développe une expertise des « systèmes complexes » s’appuyant sur une rigoureuse approche méthodologique interdisciplinaire et transversale pour analyser, comprendre et agir sur l’ensemble des enjeux qui nécessitent de dépasser les approches cloisonnées traditionnelles.

En complément du renouvellement global de la démarche scientifique, l’XSYS a défini trois thèmes de recherche prioritaires en lien avec les forces et l’importance des défis académiques, sociétaux et économiques locaux :

Xsys Triptyque
Réseaux Dynamiques
Déplacements Collectifs & Mobilité
Adaptation aux risques
La Mission
Les chercheurs engagés avec l’XSYS vouent leurs travaux à la compréhension et à la convergence des concepts et méthodes sous-jacentes de la complexité dans les domaines physiques, biologiques, sociaux, culturels, technologiques ou encore environnementaux. Notre réseau de recherche Toulousain s’étend au-delà des unités, des disciplines réunissant la curiosité d’experts impliqués dans le développement d’un raisonnement scientifique porteur d’innovation et de progrès. A mesure que seront exposés et explicités les process, les concepts et les lois régissant les mondes complexes, nous chercherons à valoriser ces connaissances et à accompagner leurs applications pour promouvoir une société et un environnement adaptés aux enjeux de demain.

Nos Domaines d'action et projets

L‘XSYS - Institut d'Etudes des Systèmes Complexes de Toulouse, accompagne par son expertise ses membres et son territoire sur l’ensemble de la chaîne de la connaissance des environnements complexes et ses applications grâce à une offre sur les « systèmes complexes » adaptée aux besoins des différents acteurs auxquels l’Institut s’adresse.

L‘XSYS a défini trois domaines d'action prioritaires :

Xsys Triptyque
Science & Interdisciplinarité
Science & Ouverture Partenariale
Science & Ouverture Citoyenne

Pour en savoir plus sur les domaines d'action et les projets de l'XSYS : cliquez ici

Notre vision

"Bring together interdisciplinary excellence to serve the great questions of our world"

Nécessité pour la création de services et de technologies innovants pour les acteurs économiques, enjeu de développement pour la puissance publique et défi à l’excellence des équipes de recherche, la compréhension des systèmes complexes touche l’ensemble des acteurs de la société.

La vision de l’XSYS - Institut d'Etudes des Systèmes Complexes de Toulouse, est de devenir un lieu majeur de la complexité en France en proposant une approche scientifique innovante interdisciplinaire des environnements complexes et en accompagnant ses interlocuteurs afin d’analyser, comprendre, concevoir et agir en environnement complexe et contribuer ainsi à la mise en place de solutions durables pour répondre aux enjeux économiques, sociaux et environnementaux de nos sociétés.

L’XSYS se donne ainsi pour mission de :

  • Développer une approche interdisciplinaire intégrée en liant et réconciliant les disciplines scientifiques pour appréhender les grands sujets de recherche et de société
  • Elaborer les concepts, outils et méthodes en faisant dialoguer et en intégrant les expertises de l’ensemble des acteurs pour affronter le défi que la complexité des phénomènes pose dans tous les domaines
  • Partager et transférer ses compétences et ses outils « systèmes complexes » avec les communautés non académiques pour agir sur leurs enjeux de complexité
  • Structurer une chaîne de connaissance et de valeur autour de l’approche nouvelle de la complexité impliquant l’ensemble des acteurs de son territoire
  • Promouvoir et valoriser le renouvellement de l’approche de la gestion des ensembles complexes auprès des mondes académiques, institutionnels et économiques
  • Participer au rayonnement international du site toulousain grâce à la valeur ajoutée créée autour de la complexité

Notre Organisation

L’XSYS rassemble les experts locaux des « systèmes complexes » et mobilise leurs compétences au service de la recherche et de son territoire :

Xsys Triptyque
14 Unités de Recherche
20 entreprises & clusters
10 institutions locales

Piloté par un comité de 15 membres représentant les communautés scientifiques, économiques et institutionnel locales, l’XSYS s’appuie sur un conseil scientifique international de haut niveau sur le front de la recherche sur les systèmes complexes pour développer une stratégie de recherche et des applications qui permettent d’analyser, de concevoir, d’optimiser et d’agir sur les environnements complexes dans lesquels évoluent ses partenaires.

L’XSYS appartient au Réseau National des Systèmes Complexes, réseau français de coordination et de valorisation des initiatives, connaissances et compétences relatives à la science des systèmes complexes.

Notre Expertise

Nos équipes de recherche

L’XSYS est une dynamique ouverte inclusive composée d’un cœur de 14 unités de recherche, 3 écoles d’ingénieurs, 3 plateformes technologiques (NeOCampus, ITAV, CBI) de premier plan national ou international regroupant plus de 200 experts scientifiques.

L’XSYS peut s’appuyer sur un cercle étendu plus de 30 laboratoires et structures de recherche partenaires et un effectif de plus de 300 personnes qui collaborent de manière régulière aux projets développés.

L’XSYS regroupe ainsi des équipes distinguées dans les disciplines :

Xsys Triptyque
Sciences Physiques et de l’Ingénieur

Bio-technologie, Chimie, Informatique, Mathématique, Mécanique, Nano-technologie, Physique, Sciences des Matériaux…

Sciences de la Vie et de la Terre

Agriculture, Biologie, Ecologie, Medecine, Santé, Sciences de la terre, Zoologie…

Sciences Humaines et Sociales

Anthropologie, Archéologie, Economie, Géographie, Histoire, Littérature Psychologie, Sciences de gestion, Sociologie, Urbanisme…

Nos offres

Pour répondre à la variété des questions de complexité posées par ses différents interlocuteurs, l’XSYS propose des projets et services uniques adaptés en faisant appel aux expertises interdisciplinaires tant quantitatives que qualitatives les plus pertinentes et en mobilisant leurs outils adéquats ou en en construisant de nouveaux.

Grâce à la diversité des expertises réunies au sein de l’XSYS, il peut éclairer la complexité pour offrir à chaque interlocuteur une meilleure compréhension de son environnement et une vision de ses leviers d’action.